For the latest information regarding the power outages on Hatteras Island, please visit the Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative on FaceBook  or Twitter. Tune to Radio Hatteras at 99.9/101.5 FM or via live stream at 

Hatteras Island Event & Activities

Click on your neighborhood Dare County Library below to view activities available at each branch


Public Meetings Calendar

Filter the events & activities calendar by category or department below. 

arrows pointing to calendar

NonPartisan Municipal Elections Filing Closes

Candidates seeking election to non-partisan municipal offices may file a Notice of Candidacy at the office of the Dare County Board of Elections.  Any qualified voter, who is at least 21 years of age, may be elected to a public office.  For a municipal office, the candidate must also be a registered voter in the municipality or municipal district.  The Dare County Board of Elections will conduct the non-partisan municipal elections on Tuesday - November 7, 2017.

The filing period begins at 12:00 noon on Friday - July 7, 2017.  The filing period will close at 12:00 noon on Friday - July 21, 2017.  To be accepted, all Notices of Candidacy, together with the proper filing fee, must be in the possession of the Dare County Board of Elections by 12:00 noon on Friday - July 21, 2017.

Municipal candidates will be elected as follows:

• 1 Mayor (two-year term)
• 4 Councilmen (two-year term)

• 1 Mayor (two-year term)
• 2 Commissioners (four-year term)

• 1 Mayor (four-year term)
• 2 Councilmen (four-year term)

• 1 Mayor (two-year term)
• 3 Commissioners (four-year term)

• 1 Mayor (four-year term)
• 2 Commissioners (four-year term)

• 1 Mayor (four-year term)
• 1 Councilmen (four-year term)

Registration books close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday - October 13, 2017, for the 2017 nonpartisan municipal elections.  The Elections Office is open Monday through Friday (8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.).  If you have any questions concerning filing or voter registration, please call the Elections Office at 252-475-5630.

Dare County Board of Elections
Donna W. Elms – Chair
Carole Warnecki – Secretary        
Lynda F. Midgett - Member

Return to full list >>