For the latest information regarding the power outages on Hatteras Island, please visit the Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative on FaceBook  or Twitter. Tune to Radio Hatteras at 99.9/101.5 FM or via live stream at 

Dare County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Dare County Narcotics Task Force Stops Pills and Tobacco from Making It Into the Detention Facility

Post Date:12/19/2016 3:56 p.m.
  • Contact Kevin Duprey, Captain
  • Phone252.475.5980

On December 15, 2016, Dare County Narcotics Task Force* had received information about individuals trying to smuggle prescription medication and tobacco into the Dare County Detention Center.  The Task Force was able to identify them and through surveillance conduct a traffic stop.  During the traffic stop an amount of Oxycodone was located and seized.  The investigation led the Task Force to the source of the Oxycodone and also two persons who were in custody waiting for the illegal contraband.  See below for arrest information;  

Haleigh Carolyn Spalding (W/F, 23)
West Kitty Hawk Rd, Kitty Hawk, NC  27949
Spalding was charged with the following and being held in lieu of a $10,000 secured bond; Felony Sell/Deliver Schedule II Controlled Substance (Oxycodone Hydrochloride 30 mg) and Schedule IV (Alprazolam) (Xanax)

Meredith Corrine Harris (W/F, 33)

Harbor Rd, Avon, NC 27915 
Harris was charged with the following and released on a $10,000 secured bond; Felony Possession with intent to Sell/Deliver Schedule II controlled substance (Oxycodone Hydrochloride 30 mg) and Schedule IV (Alprazolam) (Xanax)

Grant Jacob Possich (W/M, 24)
Hwy 12, Fricso, NC 27936

Nicklas Lynn Prevatte
(W/M, 31)
West Kitty Hawk Road, Kitty Hawk, NC 27949

Possich and Prevatte were already incarcerated and were charged with the following and issued new secured bonds of $50,000 and $10,000;  Felony Conspire to Sell/Deliver Schedule II controlled substance (Oxycodone Hydrochloride 30 mg) and Schedule IV (Alprazolam) (Xanax)          

*Dare County Narcotics Task Force is made up of the Dare County Sheriff’s Office, Nags Head Police Department, Kill Devil Hills Police Department, Kitty Hawk Police Department, North Carolina State Bureau of Investigations and North Carolina Alcohol Law Enforcement.




Return to full list >>