If you are evacuated, delay return until recommended or authorized by local authorities. A staged re-entry process will be used by the Dare County Control Group to facilitate an orderly re-entry.

  • No one will be denied entry with proper identification. Proper Identification includes:
  • Driver’s License with Dare County Address
  • Current Tax Bill
  • Reentry Pass

Please Note: No re-entry permits will be issued within 72 hours of expected landfall of a storm on the Outer Banks. Re-entry passes from previous years will not be accepted.


Priority One: Essential Personnel
Essential personnel include essential utilities personnel, government personnel, medical personnel, and damage assessment personnel. Essential personnel will receive a Priority One Critical Personnel Pass for reentry from Municipal Mayors and the Chairman of the Dare County Control Group.

Priority Two: Permanent Residents & Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses
Permanent Residents will be allowed reentry with a valid NC driver’s license with a local address or a current Dare County property tax receipt. Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as food service/supply, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted reentry only with a permit. 

Priority Three: Non-Resident Property Owners and Non-Resident Employees of Non-Critical Businesses
Reentry permits are mailed to non-resident property owners. Permits are issued one to a household based on tax registration information. There are two separate non-resident property owner permits; one for property owners North of Oregon Inlet and one for property owners South of Oregon Inlet. Contact Dare County Emergency Management (252.475.5655) if you are a non-resident property owner and have not received your reentry permit. Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses will be allowed entry with a reentry pass.

Priority Four: General Public and Visitors
No reentry pass is needed for Priority Four.