Planning Staff

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning Department Staff operates in three offices located throughout Dare County. They are responsible for land-use planning and enforcement of state building codes in the unincorporated portions of Dare County. This service area includes Colington, Hatteras Island, Martin's Point, the mainland portions of Dare County, and areas of Roanoke Island outside the Manteo town limits. The Dare County Building Inspectors also provide inspection services for the Towns of Southern Shores and Manteo under a contracted services agreement with the Town.

The Dare County Building Inspectors are responsible for conducting building inspections and the issuance of building permits. These must be obtained from the appropriate inspection office for the geographical location of the construction project. Sub-permits for mechanical, plumbing, or electrical work may be obtained at any of the offices regardless of the construction location.

Manteo Frisco Kill Devil Hills
County Administration Bldg
Room 148
954 Marshall C Collins Dr
Manteo NC 27954

Open Monday โ€” Friday
8:30 AM to 5:00 PM

County Satellite Office
50347 NC Hwy 12
Frisco NC 27936

Open Monday โ€” Friday
8:30 AM to 5:00 PM
County Satellite Office
2601 N Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills NC 27948

Open Monday โ€” Friday
8:30 AM to 5:00 PM
Donna Creef
Planning Director

email: donnac@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5873
Fax: 252.473.6653

Fred Featherstone
Building Inspector

email: fredf@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5867
Fax: 252.473.6653

Responsible for construction in Unincorporated portions of Roanoke Island including Wanchese and mainland Dare County encompassing East Lake, Manns Harbor, Mashoes, & Stumpy Point

Sharon Flatt
Planning Board Clerk

email: sharon.flatt@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5870
Fax: 252.473.6653

Noah Gillam, Planner

email: noah.gillam@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5849
Fax: 252.473.6653
John Contestable
Building Inspector

email: johnc@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5876
Fax: 252.995.3600

Responsible for construction on all of Hatteras Island

Corky Whitehead
Zoning Officer

email: corkyw@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5879
Fax: 252.995.3601

Leslie Ferguson

email: leslief@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5878
Fax: 252.995.3601
Buddy Shelton
Chief Building Inspector

email: buddys@darenc.com
Telephone: 252.475.5872
Fax: 252.449.0207

Responsible for construction in Baum Bay, Colington, and Martin's Point areas

Andrian Tillett
Permit Specialist

email: andriant@darenc.com
Telephone: 252.475.5871
Fax: 252.449.0207

The Dare County Planning Department is responsible for the unincorporated portions of Dare County. Following are links to the websites for the six incorporated municipalities in Dare County. Each of these is responsible for planning and inspections services within their town limits except as noted:

Town of Manteo and Town of Southern Shores:  fire inspections are provided by the Dare County Fire Marshal and building inspections are provided by Dare County Building Inspectors.