If you are evacuated, delay return until recommended or authorized by local authorities.

A staged re-entry process will be used by the Dare County Control Group to facilitate an orderly re-entry.

No one will be denied entry with proper identification. Proper Identification includes:
  • Driver’s License with Dare County address
  • Current Tax Bill
  • Reentry pass

It is not necessary to place your re-entry permit on your windshield until it is needed for reentry.
Please Note: No re-entry permits will be issued within 72 hours of expected landfall of a storm on the Outer Banks. Re-entry passes from previous years will not be accepted.

Re-Entry Stages

  • Priority One:
    Essential personnel

    Essential personnel include essential utilities personnel, government personnel, medical personnel, and damage assessment personnel. Essential personnel will receive a Priority One Critical Personnel Pass for re-entry from Municipal Mayors and the Chairman of the Dare County Control Group.
  • Priority Two:
    Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses and Permanent residents

    Permanent Residents will be allowed re-entry with a valid NC driver's license with a local address or a current Dare County tax receipt. Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as food service/supply, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted re-entry only with a permit. Permits issued to critical businesses for non-resident essential employees must meet stringent criteria; contact Emergency Management for more information.
  • Priority Three:
    Non-resident property owners and non-resident employees of non-critical businesses

    Re-entry permits were mailed to non-resident property owners in April. Permits were issued one to a household based on tax registration information. Green re-entry permits were dispersed for property owners north of Oregon Inlet. Burgundy re-entry permits were dispersed for property owners south of Oregon Inlet. Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses will be allowed entry with a re-entry pass. Business owners must contact Dare County Emergency Management to receive passes for employees.
  • Priority Four:
    General Public, Visitors

    No re-entry pass is needed for Priority Four re-entry.

Why are There Re-Entry Delays?

  • Polluted water
  • Severe flooding
  • Limited communications and services/merchants
  • No electricity, phone
  • Septic tanks backed up and flooding
  • Structures undermined
  • Severe erosion to shorelines
  • Trees & limbs on roads
  • Damage to personal property