Apply for a Building Permit

Building permits must be obtained from the appropriate inspection office for the geographical location of the construction project. A list of the three inspection offices, and the areas they serve, are listed below. Sub-permits for mechanical, plumbing, or electrical work may be obtained at any of the offices regardless of the construction location. 


For more information visit the Building Permits & Inspections Homepage

Planning Department Offices


Dare County Administration Building
Room 148
954 Marshall C. Collins Drive
Manteo, NC 27954
Phone: 252.475.5870

Serving unincorporated portions of Roanoke Island including Wanchese and the mainland areas of Dare County encompassing East Lake, Manns Harbor, Mashoes, & Stumpy Point


County Satellite Office
50347 NC Hwy 12
Frisco, NC 27936
Phone: 252.475.5878

All of Hatteras Island

Kill Devil Hills 

County Satellite Office
2601 North Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone: 252.475.5871

Baum Bay, Colington, and Martin's Point areas