Dare County has declared a State of Emergency due to the unprecedented public health threat posed by COVID-19 and determined that restrictions and prohibitions are necessary to protect public health and safety and are also in keeping with the President's Coronavirus Guidelines for America. Visitors and non-resident property owners are prohibited from entering Dare County. View details at   Click here for the latest information on COVID-19. 


Earn Money while performing your civic duty. The Dare County Board of Elections is accepting applications for poll workers. Click here to apply.

It is the mission of the Dare County Board of Elections to provide fair, open, honest and professionally managed election services to our community. The Board of Elections has responsibility for safeguarding the will of the people, protecting democracy, and for establishing fairness and equity for all in the process of self-governance.

The right to vote is one of the most fundamental liberties we enjoy as Americans. It is also one of our greatest civic responsibilities. Make freedom count. Please register and vote!

This site has been established to provide you with non-partisan information concerning elections and the political process in Dare County.


Voter ID will NOT be required in the March 2020 Election.  For more information about this change


For the most current information on candidate filing, to include Fact Sheets, Candidate Guides, fee schedules, etc., please visit the North Carolina State Board of Elections Candidate Filing page. 

Filing for the 2020 General Election contests closed at noon on Friday, December 20, 2019. 

Please note, Soil & Water Conservation Office Supervisor filing will be held at noon on Monday,  June 8 and conclude at noon on Thursday,  July 2, 2020.

2020 Primary Election - Frequently Asked Question

 Party Affiliation  Party Ballot
 Democrat Democratic 
 Republican Republican 
 Green Green 
 Constitution Constitution 
Libertarian  Libertarian 
 Unaffiliated Democratic OR Republic OR Libertarian 


At this time, the Constitution Party and the Green Party have closed their Primary to Unaffiliated voters.

The deadline to change your party affiliation is by 5:00 p.m. on February 7, 2020. You may NOT change your party on Election Day.

Visit the NCSBE at to check your voter registration information.


One-Stop Absentee (Early) Voting - Buxton

All registered Republicans may vote in this election. Registered Unaffiliated voters who did not vote in the first Primary may vote a Republican Party ballot in this second Primary. Registered Unaffiliated voters who voted a Republican ballot in the first Primary may vote a Republican Party ballot in this second Primary.

One-Stop Absentee (Early) Voting

One-stop voting allows registered voters to vote at any one-stop absentee voting site in the county unlike on Election Day, when voters must vote at their specific precinct. If necessary, voters may update their name or address with the Board of Elections at any one-stop site.

This election, early voting will be offered Monday through Friday from June 19 - July 5, at the Dare County Administration Building in Manteo, the Thomas A. Baum Senior Center in Kill Devil Hills and the Fessenden Center Annex in Buxton. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. There will be no early voting on Thursday, July 4. There will be no Saturday or Sunday voting for this election.

Dare County Administration Building
954 Marshall Collins Drive, Manteo

The Thomas A. Baum Senior Center
300 Mustian Street, Kill Devil Hills

The Fessenden Center Annex
47017 Buxton Back Road, Buxton

Absentee-by-Mail Voting

Any registered voter may request to receive an absentee ballot by mail. The North Carolina Absentee Ballot Request Form must be completed and returned to the Dare County Board of Elections no later than 5 p.m. on the Tuesday before the date of the election. The completed form may be mailed, faxed, emailed, or delivered in person. Absentee-by-Mail begins May 24. The last day to request an absentee ballot by mail is July 2.

Return to full list >>