Dare County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Notice of Primary Election To Be Held Tuesday, March 15

Post Date:02/15/2016
  • Contact Dare County Board of Elections
  • Phone252.475.5631
A Primary Election will be held on Tuesday, March 15, 2016 in DARE COUNTY to vote on Republican Party, Democratic Party, Libertarian Party and Nonpartisan candidates and a Public Improvement Bond. 

Voters will be asked to present acceptable photo identification when presenting to vote in person at the polls, with exceptions for voters who are unable to obtain acceptable photo identification, have a religious objection to being photographed, or are victims of a natural disaster. The acceptable forms of photo identification are a NC Driver's License or DMV-issued Identification Card (expired up to four years), US Passport or Passport Card (unexpired), Military ID Card or Veterans Affairs ID Card (unexpired, if there is an expiration date), and certain Tribal Enrollment Cards. VOTERS WHO ARE UNABLE TO OBTAIN ONE OF THESE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION MAY STILL VOTE IF THEIR INABILITY IS DUE TO A REASONABLE IMPEDIMENT such as a lost or stolen ID, lack of transportation, illness or disability, a lack of proper documents, work schedule, and others. These voters may vote a provisional ballot after completing a Reasonable Impediment Declaration and providing an alternate form of identification or the last four digits of their social security number and their date of birth. Acceptable alternate forms of identification for voters who complete a Reasonable Impediment Declaration include their voter registration card or a current utility bill, paycheck, government check, bank statement, or other government document bearing the voter's name and current address. Alternative voting options are available for voters who do not present acceptable photo identification for a reason other than a reasonable impediment to obtaining one. Voters who use curbside voting may also present one of the alternative forms of identification described above. No identification is required to vote an absentee ballot by mail. Free Identification Cards for registered voters are available from the NC DMV. For assistance with obtaining acceptable photo identification for voting or for more information on exceptions and alternative voting options, contact the NC State Board of Elections voter outreach team toll-free at 1- 866.522.4723 or visit www.VoterID.nc.gov. 

Polls will be open from 6:30 AM to 7:30 PM on Election Day. One-stop early voting will be held at the Dare County Administration Building, Room #168 at 954 Marshall Collins Drive, Manteo NC 27954 , the Baum Center, 300 Mustian Street, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948; the Fessenden Center, 46830 NC Hwy 12, Buxton, NC 27920 and the Pitts Center, 5377 N Virginia Dare Trail, Southern Shores, NC 27949. See schedule below: 

Dare County Administration Building: 
8:30 AM - 7:00 PM 3/3 and 3/4 and 3/7 through 3/11 
8:30 AM - 1:00 PM 3/12 (ONLY AT ADMIN BUILDING) 

Baum Center, Fessenden Center, Pitts Center: 
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM 3/3 - 3/4 and 3/7 - 3/11 

Canvass Day will be held in the Dare County Board of Elections office on Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 11:00 AM.

Absentee ballots are allowed. Requests for an absentee ballot must be made on a State Board of Elections Absentee Ballot Request Form and are available at the Dare County Board of Elections office, Dare County Elections website (Darenc.com) and at all One-stop early voting sites. Requests must be received in the Dare County Board of Elections office or any open One-stop early voting site by 5:00 PM on March 8, 2016. Completed absentee ballots must be returned to the Dare County Board of Elections by 5:00 PM on March 14, 2016 or postmarked no later than Election Day, March 15, 2016. Ballots received after 5:00 PM on Election Day will be timely ONLY if they are received by mail and bear a postmark that is dated on or before the date of the election and are received no later than 5:00 PM on the third day following the election. 

The Board of Elections will meet in the Dare County Board of Elections Office on February 23, March 1, March 8 and March 14 at 5:00; on March 22 at 10:00 AM and at any other times as may be necessary for the purpose of approving absentee ballot applications. The Board will also meet at 2:00 PM on Election Day to count absentee ballots. Any voter of the county may attend these meetings and observe the count. The results of the absentee ballot count will not be announced before 7:30 PM on Election Day. 

All residents of Dare County who are registered to vote with the Dare County Board of Elections may vote in this election. Voters who are previously registered need not re- register for this election. THOSE VOTERS WHO ARE REGISTERED UNAFFILIATED MAY VOTE IN THE PRIMARY ELECTION. Unaffiliated voters will be given a choice of ballot at the polling places. Those residents of Dare County who are not registered to vote must register on or before Friday, February 19, 2016 in order to be eligible to vote on Election Day. Those voters who are not registered by Friday, February 19, 2016 may register and vote during one stop early voting only, and will be required to provide documentation of their identity and residence. Voters who wish to change their party affiliation or who have changed their name or address must notify the Board of Elections by completing a voter registration application by Friday, February 19, 2016. No change may be made without your signature. Voters who fail to notify the Board of Elections of a change to their name or address must update their information when presenting to vote, and may be required to vote a provisional ballot. 

Voters who require assistance with casting their ballot are entitled to assistance by an appropriate person of their choice or an election official. Registration facilities and polling places are accessible to the elderly and handicapped. Curbside voting is available for voters who are not physically able to enter the polling place. 

Persons with questions about registration, location of polling places, absentee ballots, sample ballots, early voting at One-stop locations or other election matters may call the Dare County Board of Elections Office at 252.475.5631, Monday thru Friday between the hours of 8:30 AM and 5:00 PM. Visit our website at darenc.com/boe/info.asp for more information. 
Return to full list >>