Dare County Emergency Management is the lead role in preparing for and directing response to major emergencies and disasters , both natural and man-made within Dare County. The Department of Emergency Management is the local community based equivalent of the NC Division of Emergency Management Agency at the State level and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) at the Federal level. It works closely with all agencies (public & private) before, during and after emergencies/disasters to provide the coordination of comprehensive protection of lives and property. 

Dare County Emergency Management has a full-time staff that receives specialized training in many varied fields. Like other public safety officials, staff members serve the community 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. 


Sign up to receive email, text, and voice notifications from Dare County Emergency Management through the new emergency alerts system, powered by Regroup.

NC Resilient Redevelopment Plan Meeting

Post Date:03/15/2017 4:09 p.m.

The North Carolina General Assembly established the North Carolina Resilient Redevelopment Planning (NCRRP) program to deliver a road map for community rebuilding and revitalization assistance for the communities impacted by Hurricane Matthew. The program empowers communities across the state to prepare locally driven recovery plans to identify redevelopment strategies, innovative reconstruction projects, and other needed actions. These redevelopment Plans will be finalized May 2017.

This public meeting is the second in a series of three public meetings being held to inform the development of the County’s Resilient Redevelopment Plan. At this public meeting, we will introduce draft resilience strategies that have been developed for the County in the focus areas of housing, economic development, infrastructure and the environment. We will collect feedback on the draft strategies from all stakeholders and incorporate the comments received into the County’s draft Resilient Redevelopment Plan.

March 20, 2017 at 6:00 PM
Dare County Administration Building
Board of Commissioners Meeting Room
954 Marshall C. Collins Drive
Manteo, NC 27954 

As a part of these meetings, your feedback and comments will be requested. For additional information, please contact Nick Kuhn (Planning Lead) at nick.kuhn@aecom.com

Return to full list >>