Kick Off Meeting Scheduled for Updating the Dare County-Currituck County Hazard Mitigation Plan

Post Date:02/28/2019 5:22 PM


Dare County will host a public meeting on Tuesday, March 5 to kick off the update process for the Dare County-Currituck County Hazard Mitigation Plan.    A similar public meeting will be held on Wednesday, March 6 in Currituck County.  

Local governments are required to prepare and update hazard mitigation plans in order to be eligible for FEMA disaster relief assistance.    Dare County and Currituck County have joined efforts on this latest update.   The Towns of Manteo, Nags Head, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Southern Shores and Duck will also be part of the 2020 Hazard Mitigation Update.   

One component of the process is the solicitation of public input on hazards that affect our area and appropriate responses to these hazards.     The public meeting for Dare County is being held on Tuesday March 5 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.  at the Dare County Administration Building, 954 Marshall Collins Drive on Roanoke Island.  The Currituck County meeting is being held on Wednesday, March 6 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.  at the Currituck County Senior Center located at 130 Community Way in Barco.  Citizens and interested parties are invited to attend. 

The update process typically takes twelve to eighteen months to complete.     Questions about the Dare County Hazard Mitigation process can be directed to Drew Pearson, Dare County Emergency Management Director at 252-475-5897.

Return to full list >>