Dare County has declared a State of Emergency due to the unprecedented public health threat posed by COVID-19 and determined that restrictions and prohibitions are necessary to protect public health and safety and are also in keeping with the President's Coronavirus Guidelines for America. Visitors and non-resident property owners are prohibited from entering Dare County. View details at   Click here for the latest information on COVID-19. 

Dare County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

COVID-19 Bulletin #10

Post Date:03/20/2020 6:16 PM

 JIC Header

Bulletin #10
March 20, 2020
6:20 p.m.

The Dare County Control Group met Friday evening, March 20, 2020 to receive an update regarding COVID-19 and to discuss additional restrictions necessary to protect the public health and safety for the community.  

As part of Dare County‚Äôs continued response to the COVID-19 pandemic, non-resident property owners will be prohibited from entering Dare County beginning tonight, Friday, March 20 at 10 p.m. 

The intent of this declaration is to decrease the risk of exposure and limit the spread of COVID-19 in Dare County by eliminating non-essential travel, thereby reducing the number of individuals in the county and ultimately reducing potential virus spread and the burden on our healthcare system. It is imperative to take measures to mitigate the consequences of COVID-19 and not overwhelm our healthcare system so it can care for those who are at most risk and continue to provide routine medical and emergency services. 

Previous restrictions including the prohibition of mass gatherings and the entry of visitors remain in place. 

While disappointing for many people who enjoy spending time on the Outer Banks, these decisions are made in the interest of preserving the public health, safety and welfare of our community. 

Return to full list >>