Dare County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Public Works Employee Renee Austin Named Employee of the Year

Post Date:01/13/2016 8:30 a.m.
Renee Austin, Administrative Support Specialist in Solid Waste Management with the Public Works Department, is the Dare County Employee of the Year for 2015. She was presented the award at the January 4, 2016 meeting of the Dare County Board of Commissioners and was recognized for her outstanding service to the public. Austin was nominated by her peers to receive the award. Larry Grubbs, EMS Lieutenant and the 2014 Employee of the Year, presented the award to Austin after recognizing all the Employees of the Month for 2015.

"I work with a wonderful group of people. Everyone is deserving of this award," remarked Austin.

Austin began working for Dare County in 1994 as a Transportation Coordinator with Older Adult Services. In 1996, she joined the Public Works Department as a Secretary before advancing to her current position in 2000. In 2015, Austin played an integral role in the acquisition of a new fueling system which tracks fuel usage and mileage by department.
Public Works Director Edward Lee Mann said, "Renee takes care of fuel purchases for all of Dare County. In 2014, the county used approximately 500,000 gallons of fuel. She makes sure when county vehicles pull up to the pump, there is fuel and they can go about doing their jobs. She also reconciles purchases and billing for our department including fuel, equipment and vehicle repairs and that is no small feat. In 2014, she processed over one million dollars in billing for equipment and vehicle repair for Dare County. While she's doing that, she is answering the phone and fielding customer calls for our sanitation services."

In 2015, the following Dare County employees were recognized as Employee of the Month. Jody Lewis with the Sheriff's Office, Toni Midgett with the Register of Deeds, Joan Hunter with Parks and Recreation, Priscilla Delano with Health & Human Services, Eileen Selby with 911 Communications, Ryan Taylor with IT, Renee Austin with Public Works, Melissa Condore with Health & Human Services, Douglas Oberbeck with the Sheriff's Office, Matt Hester with IT, Russ Kiddy with Public Works and Leigh Bracy with Health & Human Services.
Return to full list >>