THE LATEST FROM NCDOT - N.C. 12 from the Marc Basnight Bridge (Oregon Inlet) to Rodanthe is still closed as N.C. Department of Transportation crews continue to clear the road of sand caused by dune breaches. Officials are estimating that they will reopen N.C. 12. on Wednesday, November 20 by 3 p.m. Please note that this is not absolute and is subject to change.  NCDOT will continue to provide updates on N.C. 12 as new information is available.  For real-time travel information, visit or follow NCDOT on social media.

Advisory Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

A group of 11 citizens serve as an Advisory Board for the Fessenden Center. Board members are appointed by the Dare County Board of Commissioners.

The Advisory Board assesses the services offered at the Fessenden Center and provides guidance on meeting the needs of those who use the facility. The Fessenden Center is a multi-generational facility serving all of Hatteras Island with programs and activities for youth, adults, older adults, and families.

Current members of the Fessenden Center Advisory Board include:

  • Bonnie Williams, Chairperson
  • Danny Couch, Dare County Board of Commissioners
  • Kenneth Brite
  • Keith Durham
  • John Griffin
  • Stephen Jennette
  • Virginia "Jinny" McBride
  • Bill Lengyel
  • Marcie Shoemaker
  • Hali Easley
  • Forrest Paddock
  • Rich Kenner

There are separate Advisory Boards for the Dare County Center, and the Fessenden Center. A list of Advisory Board Members is available at the link for each facility.

The Dare County Board of Commissioners welcomes citizen participation on Advisory Boards. This type of grassroots public involvement is the foundation of democracy and a vital part of maintaining Dare County as a quality place to live.

Applications for Advisory Boards are accepted on an on-going basis and considered when a vacancy arises. For more information, contact Rhonda Creef at 252.475.5604 or complete an on-line application.

Fessenden Center Advisory Board Links