Dare County has declared a State of Emergency due to the unprecedented public health threat posed by COVID-19 and determined that restrictions and prohibitions are necessary to protect public health and safety and are also in keeping with the President's Coronavirus Guidelines for America. Visitors and non-resident property owners are prohibited from entering Dare County. View details at   Click here for the latest information on COVID-19. 

About Board of Elections

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Dare County Board of Elections ensures that elections are free, fair, accurate, convenient and accessible to all voters in Dare County. The Board of Elections is governed by a five-member board appointed by the North Carolina State Board of Elections. 



Michele Barnes, Director
Jackie Tillett, Deputy Director


  • Sandy Semans Ross, (D) - Chair
    133 Bayview Drive
    Stumpy Point NC 27978
  • Jim Clark, (R) Vice Chair
    302 W Clark Street
    Kill Devil Hills NC 27948
  • Virginia Tillett, (D) Secretary 
    P.O. Box 653  
    Manteo, NC 27954 
  • James Cofield,  (D) Member 
    PO Box 8337
    Duck NC  27949
  • Ken Bukantas, (R) Member
    288 Wax Myrtle Trail
    Southern Shores NC 27949      



The Board of Elections meet on the last Tuesday of each month at 10:00 AM (unless otherwise posted). Meetings are held in the Board of Elections Conference Room in the Dare County Administration Building at 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive, Manteo, NC,

You may email the Director of Dare County Board of Elections with questions regarding monthly Board meetings.
04/28/2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
05/26/2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
06/29/2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
07/28/2020 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM