Face Coverings Must Be Worn In Indoor and Outdoor Public Spaces in North Carolina Where Social Distancing Cannot Be Maintained - More information available here.

During a State of Emergency that requires a mandatory evacuation to ensure public safety, Dare County officials will determine when it is safe to return. A staged reentry process is used to facilitate a safe and orderly return allowing the recovery process to begin. No one will be denied entry with proper identification. Reentry permits from previous years will not be accepted.


Priority One: Essential Personnel 
Essential personnel include essential utilities personnel, government personnel, medical personnel, and damage assessment personnel. Essential personnel will be allowed entry with a reentry permit and matching government-issued identification.

Priority Two: Permanent Residents & Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses
Permanent Residents will be allowed reentry with a valid NC driver’s license or government-issued identification card with a local address. To expedite movement through traffic control points residents can also display a reentry permit. 

Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as grocery stores, food distributor, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted reentry with a reentry permit and matching current government-issued ID.

Priority Three: Non-Resident Property Owners and Non-Resident Employees of Non-Critical Businesses

Non-resident property owners will also be allowed reentry with a current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government-issued id or a reentry permit with matching current government-issued identification.

Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses will be allowed entry with a reentry permit with matching current government issued identification.

Priority Four: General Public and Visitors 
No reentry permit is needed for Priority Four.


Priority 1 - Essential Personnel
Priority 2 - Permanent Residents & Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses
Priority 3 - Nonresident Property Owners & Nonresident Employees of Noncritical Businesses
Priority 4 - General Public & Visitors