If you are evacuated, delay return until recommended or authorized by local authorities. A staged reentry process will be used by the Dare County Control Group to facilitate an orderly reentry. No one will be denied entry with proper identification. 

Proper Identification includes:

  • Driver’s License with Dare County Address
  • Current Tax Bill or Parcel Data Sheet with matching current government issued id
    • To print/view a property tax bill or parcel data sheet, visit darenc.com/gis. Search for owner’s name, address, tax parcel number, street name, or subdivision. Once you have selected a property, click the tax bill icon or the data sheet icon to view/print. 
  • Reentry Permit

Please Note: No reentry permits will be issued within 72 hours of expected landfall of a storm on the Outer Banks. Reentry passes from previous years will not be accepted.


Priority One: Essential Personnel
Essential personnel include essential utilities personnel, government personnel, medical personnel, and damage assessment personnel. Essential personnel will receive a Priority One Critical Personnel Pass for reentry from Municipal Mayors and the Chairman of the Dare County Control Group.

Priority Two: Permanent Residents & Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses
Permanent Residents will be allowed reentry with a valid NC driver’s license with a local address or a current Dare County property tax bill or parcel data sheet. Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as food service/supply, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted reentry only with a permit. 

Priority Three: Non-Resident Property Owners and Non-Resident Employees of Non-Critical Businesses

Reentry permits are mailed to non-resident property owners. Permits are issued one to a household based on tax registration information. There are two separate non-resident property owner permits; one for property owners North of Oregon Inlet and one for property owners South of Oregon Inlet. NOTE: All Non-Resident Property Owner Permits (Green or Red Plastic Hanging Placards) with an April 1, 2018 expiration date remain valid until December 30, 2018.  Non-resident property owners can will also be allowed reentry with a current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government issued id. 

Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses will be allowed entry with a reentry pass. 

Priority Four: General Public and Visitors
No reentry pass is needed for Priority Four.