Dare County has declared a State of Emergency due to the unprecedented public health threat posed by COVID-19 and determined that restrictions and prohibitions are necessary to protect public health and safety and are also in keeping with the President's Coronavirus Guidelines for America. Visitors and non-resident property owners are prohibited from entering Dare County. View details at   Click here for the latest information on COVID-19. 

13 Positive COVID-19 Cases in Dare County
Community Resources: Find a list of resources aimed at helping those impacted by COVID-19.


  • COVID-19 Case Count in NC:

  • April 8: Executive Order 130 provides more access to health care beds, expands the pool of health care workers and orders essential childcare services for workers responding to the crisis.

  • March 31: Executive Order 124 issued prohibiting utilities services from disconnecting people unable to bay bills.

  • March 30: Executive Order 121, a statewide Stay at Home Order in effect through April 29. Read the Stay at Home Order FAQs.
  • March 23: Executive Order closed K-12 public schools through May 15. 

  • March 18: North Carolinians can text COVIDNC to 898211 to receive general information and updates about COVID-19. 

  • March 17: Executive Order closed restaurants and bars for dine-in service, makes unemployment benefits more widely available. More.

Dare County COVID-19 FAQs - Addressing questions and concertns


Sign up for COVID-19 email alerts from NCDHHS.

Reliable Social Media Sources:

Dare County Government
Department of Health & Human Services Facebook Page
Dare County Twitter

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services (NCDHHS)
NCDHHS Facebook
NCDHHS Twitter

North Carolina Emergency Management (NCEM)
NCEM Facebook
NCEM Twitter

World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO Facebook
WHO Twitter

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC Facebook
CDC Twitter

The Dare County Control Group declared a State of Emergency for Dare County and has established a Joint Information Center to coordinate important communications from towns and agencies to help combat the spread of COVID-19. 

A “Stay Home - Stay Healthy” declaration for Dare County, which aligns with North Carolina's statewide Stay at Home order, is in effect to further minimize opportunities for exposure and transmission of COVID-19. 

EVERYONE must stay at home except to:

  • Work at essential businesses and institutions
  • Visit essential businesses and institutions (e.g., grocery stores, pharmacies, doctors & healthcare providers)
  • Care for a family member (if there is an urgent need)
  • Exercise outdoors (while maintaining social distancing)

EVERYONE is required to:

  • Not gather in groups of more than 10 people
  • Practice social distancing by maintaining at least a six foot distance between you and others

Frequently asked questions about the order, summaries of what citizens can do and should not do, and other information can be found here.

Visitors and non-resident property owners are prohibited from entering Dare County. This decision was made by the Dare County Control Group due to the unprecedented health threat posed by COVID-19 to protect public health and safety. The guidelines are in keeping with with the President's Coronavirus Guidelines for America to limit the risk of exposure and  the spread of COVID-19. Visit for complete information.   

  • COVID-19 Bulletin #37

    Dare County Division of Public Health announces three additional cases of COVID-19.

    04/09/2020 1:10 PM

  • COVID-19 Bulletin #36

    Dare County reports first death related to COVID-19.

    04/09/2020 11:10 AM

  • COVID-19 Bulletin #35

    Many have asked questions about Dare County's readiness in the event we begin to see a large increase in the number of positive COVID-19 cases. Across the nation, state, as well as in Dare County, agencies are taking all steps possible to address the COVID-19 public health emergency.

    04/08/2020 1:04 PM

  • COVID-19 Bulletin #34

    As of today, a total of 10 individuals have tested positive for COVID-19 in Dare County.

    04/07/2020 12:36 PM

County Seal ThumbnailDare County Offices & Departments
Town of Duck SealTown of Duck
Southern Shores SealTown of Southern Shores
Kitty Hawk Town SealTown of Kitty Hawk
Kill Devil Hills SealTown of Kill Devil Hills
Nags Head SealTown of Nags Head
Manteo LogoTown of Manteo
dcsDare County Schools
National Park ServiceNational Park Service
The_Outer_Banks_Hospital_logoOuter Banks Hospital
COA LogoCOA - Dare Campus


North Carolina Public Health COVID-19 Hotline

Dare County COVID-19 Call Center 
Open Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.