The Dare County Planning Department is responsible for land-use planning and building and fire inspections in the unincorporated portions of Dare County. This service area includes: Colington, Hatteras Island, Martin's Point, the mainland portions of Dare County, and areas of Roanoke Island outside the Manteo town limits.

The Planning Board, appointed by the Dare County Board of Commissioners, meets on a regular basis to consider issues of land-use planning in unincorporated Dare County. A list of members and the jurisdictions they represent are available on the link "Planning Board." A schedule of meeting dates and minutes are also available.

Building permits must be obtained from the appropriate inspection office for the geographical location of the construction project. A list of the three inspection offices, and the areas they serve, are listed below. Sub-permits for mechanical, plumbing, or electrical work may be obtained at any of the offices regardless of the construction location.

Planning Department Offices  

All offices are open Monday - Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Manteo - Serves all of unincorporated portions of Roanoke Island including Wanchese and the mainland areas of Dare County encompassing East Lake, Manns Harbor, Mashoes, & Stumpy Point

Frisco - Serves all of Hatteras Island

Kill Devil Hills - Serves Baum Bay, Colington, and Martin's Point areas

Facility NameAddressPhone
Planning Department Office - Frisco50347 NC Highway 12
Frisco, NC 27936
(252) 475-5878
Planning Department Office - Kill Devil Hills2601 North Croatan Highway
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
(252) 475-5871
Planning Department Office - Manteo954 Marshall C. Collins Drive Room 148
Manteo, NC 27954
(252) 475-5870