Dare County has declared a State of Emergency due to the unprecedented public health threat posed by COVID-19 and determined that restrictions and prohibitions are necessary to protect public health and safety and are also in keeping with the President's Coronavirus Guidelines for America. Visitors and non-resident property owners are prohibited from entering Dare County. View details at   Click here for the latest information on COVID-19. 

Building permits must be obtained from the appropriate inspection office for the geographical location of the construction project. A list of the three inspection offices, and the areas they serve, are listed below. Sub-permits for mechanical, plumbing, or electrical work may be obtained at any of the offices regardless of the construction location.   

A North Carolina licensed general contractor is required for building construction or repairs that cost $30,000 or more.  Exceptions to this requirement can be reviewed at this link:   NC Licensing Requirements for General Contractors  

Additional Information

When is a Permit Required?
Information Needed to Obtain a Permit
Inspections Required for New Construction

Planning Department Offices

Manteo   Frisco   Nags Head

County Admin Bldg
Room 148
954 Marshall C Collins Dr
Manteo NC 27954
Phone: 252.475.5870

Unincorporated portions of Roanoke Island including Wanchese and the mainland areas of Dare County encompassing East Lake, Manns Harbor, Mashoes, & Stumpy Point

  County Satellite Office
50347 NC Hwy 12
Frisco NC 27936
Phone: 252.475.5878

All of Hatteras Island
  County Satellite Office
2514 S Croatan Hwy
Nags Head NC  27959
Phone: 252.475.5871

Baum Bay, Colington, and Martin's Point areas