Preliminary Flood Maps - Appeal Period 

The 90-day appeal period for the Dare County preliminary flood maps was implemented by FEMA on August 16, 2017 and ends on November 13, 2017.     

What is An Appeal?

An appeal is a formal objection to new of modified base flood elevations, the addition or modification of any Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) boundary or zone designation, or regulatory floodway shown on a preliminary FIRM panel. Appeals are based on empirical data that show the flood maps are scientifically or technically incorrect.  Property owner appeals must be submitted to Dare County as the local coordinating agency with the NC Floodplain Mapping Department and FEMA.    For additional information on the appeal process and what is considered appropriate scientific or technical data, please contact Donna Creef, Dare County Planning Director at 252-475-5873. 

Area residents, property owners and businesses can see how their property is classified by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) on the recently released preliminary coastal floodplain maps for Dare County.  The preliminary maps may be viewed online at . See video below for information about how to access the information via the website. 

To determine whether the flood zone for your property has changed, you can check both the current, effective flood map and the new, preliminary map at the NC FRIS website.  Or if you live in or own property in unincorporated Dare County you may contact the Dare County Planning Department at 252-475-5873 and planning staff will assist you with identification of the flood zone for your property.

If you live in or own property in the Town of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head or Manteo, contact the planning department in your municipality for assistance identifying the flood zone for your property.

  • Town of Duck - 252.255.1234
  • Southern Shores - 252.261.2394
  • Kitty Hawk - 252.261.3552
  • Kill Devil Hills - 252.449.5318
  • Nags Head - 252.441.7016
  • Manteo - 252.473.2133



FRIS Preliminary Coastal Floodplain Maps for Dare County