THE LATEST FROM NCDOT - N.C. 12 from the Marc Basnight Bridge (Oregon Inlet) to Rodanthe is still closed as N.C. Department of Transportation crews continue to clear the road of sand caused by dune breaches. Officials are estimating that they will reopen N.C. 12. on Wednesday, November 20 by 3 p.m. Please note that this is not absolute and is subject to change.  NCDOT will continue to provide updates on N.C. 12 as new information is available.  For real-time travel information, visit or follow NCDOT on social media.


Dare County participates in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and the Community Rating System (CRS).

For information on flood maps and regulations for property located in unincorporated Dare County, please contact the Dare County Planning Department.

Know your flood risk and be prepared in the event a flood occurs.