Planning Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Dare County Planning Board

The Dare County Planning Board serves as an advisory board to the Dare County Board of Commissioners on issues of land-use planning in unincorporated Dare County.

Planning Board members are appointed by the Dare County Board of Commissioners and serve staggered, three-year terms. The Planning Board consists of one representative from each of the four geographical voting districts in Dare County and three additional at-large members.

Planning Board Members

John Finelli - Chairman, At Large
Terry Gore, II - At Large
David Overton - At Large
Buddy Shelton - District 1 (Roanoke Island and Mainland Dare County)
Michael Barr - District 2 (Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills, Colington)
Vacant - District 3 (Kitty Hawk, Southern Shores, Martins Point, Duck)
Beth Midgett - District 4 (Hatteras Island)

Planning Board Meetings — View Agenda and Official Minutes

The Planning Board meets on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. unless the schedule is changed because of holidays or other reasons. *The November meeting is on Tuesday due to a Monday holiday. Meetings are held in the Board of Commissioners Meeting Room at 954 Marshall C. Collins Drive on Roanoke Island.   Ample free parking is available between the Administration Building and the Dare County Justice Center.

All items should be submitted by noon on the appropriate submission dates. Items submitted after the deadline will be considered an early submission for the next month.

Planning Board meetings are open to the public.   A mailing list for agendas is maintained by the Planning Board Clerk.  To add your name to this list, please contact Sharon Flatt at 252.475.5870.   This service is provided free of charge. 

                    Meeting Dates 2018                          Deadline for Submission

January 8, 2018

December 18, 2017

February 12, 2018

January 22, 2018

March 12, 2018

February 19, 2018

April 9, 2018

March 19, 2018

May 14, 2018

April 23, 2018

June 11, 2018

May 21, 2018

July 9, 2018

June 18, 2018

August 13, 2018

July 23, 2018

September 10, 2018

August 20, 2018

October 8, 2018

September 17, 2018

November 13, 2018*

October 22, 2018

December 10, 2018

November 19, 2018


Planning Board Links

Agenda & Minutes
Fee Schedule