Planning Staff

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Planning Department Staff operates in three offices located throughout Dare County. They are responsible for land-use planning and enforcement of state building codes in the unincorporated portions of Dare County. This service area includes Colington, Hatteras Island, Martin's Point, the mainland portions of Dare County, and areas of Roanoke Island outside the Manteo town limits.

The Dare County Building Inspectors are responsible for conducting building inspections and the issuance of building permits. These must be obtained from the appropriate inspection office for the geographical location of the construction project. Sub-permits for mechanical, plumbing, or electrical work may be obtained at any of the offices regardless of the construction location.

Manteo Frisco Nags Head

County Administration Bldg
Room 148
954 Marshall C Collins Dr
Manteo NC 27954

Open Monday โ€” Friday
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

 

Responsible for construction in Unincorporated portions of Roanoke Island including Wanchese and mainland Dare County encompassing East Lake, Manns Harbor, Mashoes, & Stumpy Point

County Satellite Office
50347 NC Hwy 12
Frisco NC 27936


Open Monday โ€” Friday
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Responsible for construction on all of Hatteras Island

County Satellite Office
2514 S Croatan Hwy

Nags Head NC  27959



Open Monday โ€” Friday
8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

 

Responsible for construction in Baum Bay, Colington, and Martin's Point areas

Donna Creef
Planning Director
email: donnac@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5873
Fax: 252.473.6653

Ed Kindervater
Chief Building Inspector
email: ed.kindervater@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5867
Fax: 252.473.6653

Noah Gillam, Planner
email: noah.gillam@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5849
Fax: 252.473.6653

Sharon Flatt
Planning Board Clerk
email: sharon.flatt@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5870
Fax: 252.473.6653
Crew Hayes

Building Inspector

email: crew.hayes@darenc.com

Phone: 252.475.5876
Fax: 252.995.3600

 
Wayland Jennette
Building Inspector

email:  wayland.jennette@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5877
Fax: 252.995.3601

 

KD Jackson
email:kevin.jackson@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5879
Fax: 252.995.3601

Leslie Ferguson
email: leslief@darenc.com
Phone: 252.475.5878
Fax: 252.995.3601
Kevin Clark
Building Inspector

email:

kevin.clark@darenc.com

Phone:  252.475.5872

 

 

Andrian Tillett
Permit Specialist
email: andriant@darenc.com
Telephone: 252.475.5871


The Dare County Planning Department is responsible for the unincorporated portions of Dare County.  Following are links to the websites for the six incorporated municipalities in Dare County.  Each of these is responsible for planning services and building permits within their town limits.