The Recycling Department is responsible for processing and marketing recyclable material collected throughout unincorporated Dare County.

The department operates numerous drop off collection centers through out the County and offers commercial pick up of materials for businesses. The Recycling Department operates two (2) yard debris collection sites and manages disposal of automotive tires, motor oil, lead acid batteries, and used appliances. Periodically this department conducts special collections for pesticides and other household hazardous materials are conducted.

There are several drop-off recycling centers in Dare County. Some are located in the towns and some are in unincorporated Dare County. Most accept glass, aluminum and steel cans, some plastic (No. 1 & 2), paper and cardboard. Some County Centers accept used motor oil and old tires. Call 252.475.5890 for further information.

Facility NameAddress
Buxton Transfer Station 47027 NC Highway 12
Buxton, NC 27920
Hatteras Village Recycling Center59325-59649 Coast Guard Row
Hatteras, NC 27953
Manns Harbor Transfer Station 1603 Cub Road
Manns Harbor, NC 27953
Stumpy Point Recycling Center251 Bayview Drive
Stumpy Point, NC 27978