• How do I purchase a trash can?
  • How do I get trash can parts?
More FAQs >



The Sanitation Department provides residential and commercial solid waste collection for all areas of Dare County with the exception of the incorporated towns of Manteo, Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills, Duck and Southern Shores. Solid Waste is collected and transported to a commercially operated Transfer Station located off HWY 264 in Manns Harbor. This waste is then transported to Bertie County for final disposition.

This department also provides County residents with a Large Item pickup, which is held once a year. Dates and times for this service are placed in the Coastland Times, posted in the Public Works Office located in Manteo and on this County website home page. This service helps residents dispose of furniture and white goods not picked up during regular sanitation service.

County residents may purchase a new trash can through the Dare County Sanitation Department. Currently the cost is $85.40 if the resident picks the can up at 1018 Driftwood Dr, Manteo. A can may be delivered to the home for the price of $96.08. We accept cash, checks, and major credit cards. Please call 252.475.5880 or 252.475.5881 to place the order.

Depending on the age of the trash can, there may be parts that the resident can purchase for repair of a can. This would be decided upon phone call after Dare County determines if the can will be able to be repaired, or if the resident would need to purchase a new one. Cost for parts varies.