Dare County has declared a State of Emergency due to the unprecedented public health threat posed by COVID-19 and determined that restrictions and prohibitions are necessary to protect public health and safety and are also in keeping with the President's Coronavirus Guidelines for America. Visitors and non-resident property owners are prohibited from entering Dare County. View details at   Click here for the latest information on COVID-19. 

Notary Public

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The NC Secretary of State oversees the qualifications of notaries in North Carolina. You may obtain the following information from the Notary Public Section of the NC Secretary of State’s web site

  • Requirements for becoming a Notary
  • Initial Application Form
  • Requirements for Reappointment as Notary
  • Application for Reappointment
  • Requirements for Name/Address change
  • Application for change of name/address
  • Notary acknowledgement forms

Fee for notary application is $50.00 and must accompany the application which is mailed to:

Secretary of State
Notary Public Division
PO Box 29626
Raleigh NC 27626-0622

After receiving word that the notary commission is approved, the applicant must appear at the Register of Deeds in the county of the commission for the administration of oath. Fee for administering the notary oath is $10.00. The Register of Deeds will issue a certificate at the time the oath is taken and record the notary’s signature, date of effectiveness, and expiration date.