Face Coverings Must Be Worn In Indoor and Outdoor Public Spaces in North Carolina Where Social Distancing Cannot Be Maintained - More information available here.

The Patrol Division of the Dare County Sheriff's Office is the backbone of our Office. 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, these men and women are working to help make Dare County a better and safer place to live, work and visit. The patrol deputies functions include responding to calls for assistance; non-emergency and emergency, initial investigations, evidence collection, observing for and recognizing criminal behavior, enforcing laws whether criminal or traffic related and encouraging voluntary compliance through simple presence and visibility.

The Dare County Sheriff's Office Patrol Division consists of 3 Patrol Districts (A, B & C). The Patrol Division is responsible for Law Enforcement and Calls for Service within the unincorporated areas of Dare County. Each Patrol District is staffed with a District Supervisor (Lieutenant), Assistant Supervisor (Sergeant), K9 Handler and Deputies.

The Dare County Sheriff's Office Patrol Division prides itself having very close working relationships with the Police Departments in the Towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head and Manteo as well as the North Carolina State Highway Patrol and National Park Service.

Impact Team

In an effort to place additional officers in “hot spot” areas, an Impact Team has been established. This unit will be responsible for street level patrol and other duties as it relates to areas where an increase in crime or potential violent behavior is occurring or expected. The Impact Team will be deployed throughout the county in an effort to increase our presence.


District A is geographically located from the Currituck County lines at Kitty Hawk and Duck, south to the Whalebone intersection in Nags Head, with primary Patrol and Call for Service areas of Martin's Point, Baum Bay, Colington Island and Colington Harbour.

District A includes the Towns of Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills and Nags Head. 

The A District Office is located at 
2089 Colington Road 
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948

District B is geographically located from the Whalebone intersection in Nags Head, south to the Oregon Inlet Bridge and west to the Hyde and Tyrrell County lines, with primary Patrol and Call for Service areas of Wanchese, Roanoke Island, Manns Harbor, East Lake and Stumpy Point.

District B includes the Town of Manteo.

The B District Office is located at the 
Dare County Justice Center
962 Marshall C. Collins Drive
Manteo, NC 27954

District C is geographically located from the Oregon Inlet bridge south to the Hatteras Island Ferry Dock, with Patrol and Call for Service areas of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras.

The C District Office is located at 
50347 Highway NC12 
Buxton, NC 27920