Face Coverings Must Be Worn In Indoor and Outdoor Public Spaces in North Carolina Where Social Distancing Cannot Be Maintained - More information available here.

Dare County Sheriff's Office

P. O. Box 757

Dare County Justice Center

962 Marshall C. Collins Drive

Manteo, NC 27954-0757

Phone (252) 475-5980

Fax (252) 441-9437

Please click here for the Online Processing Site for Handgun Purchase Permits and Concealed Permits 

Handgun Purchase Permit Information and Requirements

  • The application fee for each permit is $5.00 (non-refundable) and each permit has an expiration date of five (5) years from the date of issue.
  • A check, money order or exact cash will be accepted at the time the application is received. 
  • Your permit(s) will generally be ready after five (5) business days from the date received.
  • The Sheriff's Office will call you to advise your permit(s) are ready.
  • You are encouraged to call the Sheriff's Office before coming by to pick up your permit(s) to ensure that it is ready for pickup.
  • If your application is denied, you will be notified in writing.
  • All questions on your application must be completed before the application can be processed.
  • You may mail the completed application to the Sheriff's Office or you can bring it to the Sheriff's Office. If you mail the application to the Sheriff's Office, please include a copy of your driver's license or ID; the fee and release form.
  • The form to purchase a handgun may be obtained online, or picked up at the Sheriff's Office.
  • Permits must be picked up by the applicant within twenty-eight (28) days of notification.

Applicant requirements for a Pistol Purchase Permit

  • Must be 18 years old
  • Must be a resident of Dare County
  • Resident Aliens: bring a resident alien card
  • Naturalized Citizens: bring your Naturalization Certificate or valid US Passport
  • U.S. Citizens born outside of the U.S.A. to U.S. parent(s) bring your documentation from the Department of State (Consular Report of Birth Abroad, Certificate of Citizenship, or Certification of Report of Birth)
  • Must NOT be convicted of any felony, or similar offense in any jurisdiction or currently under indictment for any felonious offense
  • Must NOT be a fugitive from justice
  • Must NOT be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana, any depressant, stimulant or narcotic drug
  • Must NOT be adjudged incompetent on grounds of mental illness, nor have been committed to any mental institution
  • Effective December 1, 2015, North Carolina General Statute 14-404(e1) requires applicants to sign a release of court orders concerning mental health and capacity for pistol purchase permits.
  • Must NOT be convicted of a Domestic Violence Offense
  • Must NOT have a substantial history of convictions, arrests, or reports demonstrating a continuing pattern of criminal activity
  • Must NOT be discharged from the Armed Forces under disqualifying conditions
  • Must NOT be an illegal alien unlawfully residing in the United States
  • Must NOT have been a citizen of the United States and renounced that citizenship

Buying and Selling Pistols

You must obtain a valid pistol permit, whether you receive the weapon from a commercial dealer or a private person. The requirement also applies without regard to whether it is a transaction for money or a gift.

It is a misdemeanor to sell or otherwise dispose of a handgun without first obtaining a pistol permit from the recipient of the pistol.


Dare County Ordinance:

   (A)   Near residences.  It is unlawful for any person to discharge a rifle, handgun or other firearm within 300 yards of any occupied residence or mobile home, except by permission of the occupant of the residence and/or mobile home.
   (B)   On or across roadway.  It is unlawful for any person to discharge a firearm on or across any public road or highway.
   (C)   Exceptions.  This section does not apply to the taking of birds or animals pursuant to G.S. Ch. 113, Subchapter IV; use of firearms in defense of persons or property; or use of firearms by law enforcement officers in the performance of duty.


NC General Statute 14-315.1: Storage of firearms to protect minors

(a) Any person who resides in the same premises as a minor, owns or possesses a firearm, and stores or leaves the firearm (i) in a condition that the firearm can be discharged and (ii) in a manner that the person knew or should have known that an unsupervised minor would be able to gain access to the firearm, is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if a minor gains access to the firearm without the lawful permission of the minor's parents or a person having charge of the minor and the minor:

  1. Possesses it in violation of G.S. 14-269.2(b);
  2. Exhibits it in a public place in a careless, angry, or threatening manner;
  3. Causes personal injury or death with it not in self defense; or
  4. Uses it in the commission of a crime.

(b) Nothing in this section shall prohibit a person from carrying a firearm on his or her body, or placed in such close proximity that it can be used as easily and quickly as if carried on the body.

(c) This section shall not apply if the minor obtained the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry by any person.

(d) "Minor" as used in this section means a person under 18 years of age who is not emancipated. (1993, c. 558, s. 2; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 14, s. 11.)


*** It is your responsibility to know the NC gun laws.