The county is required to develop and use standards, rules and procedures that are applied equitably to similar types of properties. These standards are developed based on market value transactions that have occurred within the county, construction costs, and analysis of conditions affecting our local market prior to the date of the most recent countywide reappraisal. The assessed value of your property, establishedas a result of the revaluation, should representthe price a typical buyer would be willing to pay for the property in its condition, on January 1 of the year of the most recent countywide reappraisal, which was January 1, 2020.
How did my property value change?
Property values do not change uniformly throughout the county. Your property's assessed value is based on market conditions and /or sales in your neighborhood prior to the January 1, 2020 revaluation date. The assessed value of your property may have increased, decreased, or remained the same since the previous 2013 countywide revaluation.
How will a revaluation affect my tax bill?
The revaluation determines the assessed value of your property. The tax rate for the county is set by the Dare County Board of Commissioners and is established by June 30th of each year. Your tax bill is calculated by using the assessed value of your property; dividing that value by 100; and multiplying the result by the tax rate.
What if I disagree with my property value?
Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 105-317.1(c), personal property value, situs, or taxability be appealed within 30 days after the date of the initial notice of value. If the tax office does not give separate written notice of the value to the taxpayer, then the tax bill serves as notice of the value of the personal property. A letter of appeal should provide a description of your disagreement and include any documentation that will assist us in reviewing the account.
Real property assessments can be appealed each year for the current tax year. Valuation appeals can be considered, based on the January 1, 2020 fair market value. Appeals must be made prior to the date that the Dare County Board of Equalization and Review adjourns for the year, which is generally April 1st. (N.C.G.S. 105-287)
What is "fair market value"?
"The price estimated in terms of money at which the property would change hands between a willing and financially able buyer and a willing seller, neither being under any compulsion to buy or to sell and both having reasonable knowledge of all uses to which the property is adapted and for which it is capable of being used." ' North Carolina General Statute105-283
What is meant by "revaluation"?
Revaluation is the reappraisal of all real estate in the County which includes residential and commercial improved properties, as well as vacant land. North Carolina law requires counties to reappraise all real estate at least once every 8 years to reflect the current fair market value.
What is my real estate property value based on?
All Dare County property assessments are currently based on the market value as of January 1, 2020, not the current market value. North Carolina law requires all counties to base property assessments on the market value of the most recent countywide revaluation, which in Dare County was effective January 1, 2020.
What is the purpose of a revaluation?
The purpose of a revaluation is to re-establish equity among all properties and to equalize the tax burden among all classes of property. A revaluation ensures property owners are paying their fair share of taxes for services rendered by local governments.
When was the last revaluation done in Dare County?
The last revaluation in Dare County was effective January 1, 2020. Prior to that, it was January 1, 2013.
Who appraises real estate for the Dare County Appraisal Department?
Real Property Appraisers from the County Property Appraisal Office are responsible for the appraisal and assessment of all Dare County real estate. The office maintains records on over 43,000 parcels of land and any accompanying buildings or improvements. All appraisers are required to be certified by the Local Government Division of the North Carolina Department of Revenue.
Will appraisers be visiting my property?
Appraisers inspect each property in the field using information currently on the tax records, and set preliminary values based on a review of that property. A field review allows appraisers to take into account changes to individual properties and neighborhoods that may have occurred since the last revaluation.
Does the tax department send a copy of my tax bill to my mortgage company?
No. It is the property owner’s responsibility to ensure the timely payment of taxes. If funds are held in escrow, it is recommended that you send one part of the tax bill to your lender. Note: Interest begins on Jan 6th so most mortgage companies do not pay until mid to late November.
How can I pay my Tax Bill?
You can pay your Personal Property or Real Estate taxes via these methods.
When will I receive a bill for my real estate and personal property taxes?
Tax bills for real estate and personal property are mailed to all Dare County property owners in July of each year. If you do not receive your tax statement by August 15th, you may print a duplicate tax bill on this web site under Tax Bills.
Why did I get a tax bill for property that I sold?
If you have sold or otherwise transferred any of the real property associated with this notice, please forward a copy to the new owner. Unpaid taxes are advertised in the name of the owner on the date the tax becomes delinquent.
It is the practice of attorneys to make proration adjustments for the payment of taxes on the closing statement; however, payments are not normally paid to the tax office. It is not uncommon for the seller’s prorated amount to be distributed to the buyer at closing. If you have any questions as to any proration agreement, please refer to your closing statement or contact your closing attorney.
Motor Vehicle Tax
How do I Appeal My Motor Vehicle Value?
The valuation of your motor vehicle may be appealed to the Special Motor Vehicle Valuation Review Board. The burden of proof in an appeal lies with the taxpayer. By statute, a valuation appeal must be completed within thirty (30) days from the date on the notice.
What if I moved out of North Carolina?
If you moved out of North Carolina, you should turn your plates in to the NC Department of Motor Vehicles, PO Box 448, Manteo, NC 27954 with a self-addressed stamped envelope. Send a copy of the license surrender receipt you received from DMV and a copy of your new state registration card to the Dare County Tax Office for a possible prorated tax bill or refund, within 1 year of your surrender date.
What if I sold, traded, junked, or gifted my vehicle?
1. If you transferred your license plates from one vehicle to another, no refund or prorated bill is applicable. Pay the tax bill on the old vehicle. You will not get a tax bill on the new vehicle until you renew your plates again.
2. If you did not transfer your plates, you should turn them in to the NC Department of Motor Vehicle in person located in Island Pharmacy at the Chesley Mall in Manteo or by mail, to: PO Box 448, Manteo, NC 27954 with a self-addressed stamped envelope. Send a copy of the license plate surrender receipt from NCDMV (form FS20) and a bill of sale/new state registration or other verifying documents within 1 year of plate surrender date to the tax department for a possible prorated tax bill or refund.