Authorization for the land transfer tax became effective September 1, 1985 by Senate Bill 716, 1985 Session, General Assembly of North Carolina.

The Land Transfer Tax Rate for Dare County is 1%, defined as an excise tax on instruments conveying certain interests in real property. The tax imposed is $1 per each $100 or fraction thereof of the total consideration or value of the interest conveyed.


  • Original Deed or Document to be Recorded
  • Copy of Deed or Document to be Recorded
  • Copy of Contract/OriginalAffidavit
  • Tax Certification

Additional Information:

  • As of September 19, 2014 this office will no longer accept any Land Transfer Tax request via email.
  • No land transfer tax number will be given if delinquent taxes are due.
  • Always notify the office if any changes occur after a number has been issued.

The use of the Land Transfer Tax:

  • County:  Must be used only for capital expenditures or debt service incurred for capital expenditures for courts, jails and detention facilities, emergency medical services, libraries, recreation, education, administration, water, sewage, health and social services.
  • Municipalities:  Must be used for capital expenditures or debt service incurred for capital expenditures.

The distribution of tax:

  • First twelve (12) years of tax, 100% of net proceeds to Dare County
  • Thereafter (beginning 7/1/97)
  • 65% to Dare County
  • 35% to named towns (Duck, Kill Devil Hills, Kitty Hawk, Manteo, Nags Head & Southern Shores) in proportion to the amount of ad valorem taxes levied by each town for the preceding fiscal year.

A person can dispute the amount of tax due stated by the tax collector to the Land Transfer Tax Appeals Board. A hearing is held by filing a written notice of appeal with the tax collector within 30 days after paying the tax. Board meets when needed.