An exciting new way to check your Vehicle Property Tax Fees!
In North Carolina, a program called Tag and Tax Together was implemented in 2013. This program combines the vehicle registration fee and property tax on one notice which is mailed to the vehicle owner by NC Division of Motor Vehicles 60 days prior to the expiration of the registration.
The total amount due on the combined statement will be made payable to NCDMV. You will not be able to renew your vehicles registration unless the total taxes and registration fees on the vehicle are paid at the same time.
The following motor vehicle categories are not taxed through the Tag and Tax Program :
vehicles exempt from registration by North Carolina law
mobile classrooms and offices
semi-trailers registered on a multi-year basis
motor vehicles owned or leased by public service companies
vehicles in confidential status
Click here for more information on the state's "Tag and Tax Together" program.
All registered motor vehicles are valued at retail value. Valuation appeals and supporting documentation must be postmarked or received within 30 days of the due date printed on the combined notice.
If your address has changed since you registered your vehicle you can change your address by visiting your local license plate agency or by
requesting a duplicate registration card online.
Visit your local License Plate Agency or
www.ncdot.gov/dmv/ to pay taxes and fees.
Delinquent Motor Vehicle Tax
If you are attempting to pay a delinquent vehicle tax bill,
prior to 2014 , contact the Tax Collections Office at 252.475.5952.
Fax: 252.475.9130 ADDRESS
Dare County Justice Center
962 Marshall C. Collins Drive
Manteo, NC 27954
What if I sold, traded, junked, or gifted my vehicle?
1. If you transferred your license plates from one vehicle to another, no refund or prorated bill is applicable. Pay the tax bill on the old vehicle. You will not get a tax bill on the new vehicle until you renew your plates again.
2. If you did not transfer your plates, you should turn them in to the NC Department of Motor Vehicle in person located in Island Pharmacy at the Chesley Mall in Manteo or by mail, to: PO Box 448, Manteo, NC 27954 with a self-addressed stamped envelope. Send a copy of the license plate surrender receipt from NCDMV (form FS20) and a bill of sale/new state registration or other verifying documents within 1 year of plate surrender date to the tax department for a possible prorated tax bill or refund.
What if I moved out of North Carolina?
If you moved out of North Carolina, you should turn your plates in to the NC Department of Motor Vehicles, PO Box 448, Manteo, NC 27954 with a self-addressed stamped envelope. Send a copy of the license surrender receipt you received from DMV and a copy of your new state registration card to the Dare County Tax Office for a possible prorated tax bill or refund, within 1 year of your surrender date.
How do I Appeal My Motor Vehicle Value?
The valuation of your motor vehicle may be appealed to the Special Motor Vehicle Valuation Review Board. The burden of proof in an appeal lies with the taxpayer. By statute, a valuation appeal must be completed within thirty (30) days from the date on the notice.
More FAQs >