Pay Taxes

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

2018 Property Tax Bills  

The 2018 Property Tax Bills were mailed Wednesday, July 18, 2018.  The bills are due September 1, 2018 and delinquent after January 7, 2019.  Payments can be made at the Tax Office, located inside the Dare County Courthouse, at the drop box located in front of the courthouse, or at the Dare County Water Department locations in Kill Devil Hills, Rodanthe, and Frisco.  Electronic payments can be made through our website at or payments can be mailed to the address listed on the tax bill.


Please note: Prepared Food & Beverage taxes and Occupancy taxes must be paid by cash or check.

Make checks payable and mail to:

PO Box 538310
Atlanta, GA 30353-8310

For income tax and other records, please retain the upper portion of the bill and/or your cancelled check. Due to the cost of postage, receipts will be mailed only if you send a self-addressed stamped envelope.

Late Payment Charge

Real and personal property taxes become delinquent after January 5. Interest begins January 6 at a rate of 2% for the first month and 3/4 of 1% will be added each month thereafter until paid. Other costs and charges may also be added to the amount you owe.

Payments submitted by mail are deemed received based on the date shown on the postmark affixed only by the U.S. Postal Service. If the postmark is not affixed by the U.S. Postal Service or the postmark cannot be read, payment will be deemed to be received when it is received in the tax office. It is to your advantage to mail your payment several days in advance of the past due date. 

It is the property owner's responsibility to ensure the timely payment of taxes. If funds are held in escrow, it is recommended that you send one part of the tax notice to your lender.

Failure to Pay/Collections

Delinquent taxes will be collected through garnishment of wages, attachment of state income tax refunds and bank accounts, seizure and sale of personal property (including vehicles, boats, and business equipment), or foreclosure on real estate.

Each year delinquent real estate taxes are advertised in a local newspaper. Unpaid taxes will be advertised in accordance with N.C.G.S. 105-369. Additional costs will be added to delinquent accounts if advertised.

Return Check Charge

A ten percent (10%) penalty (minimum$25.00) will be charged for any check returned due to insufficient funds [N.C.G.S. 105-357(b)(2)], plus any criminal penalties provided by law. Tax receipts become null and void if a payment by check fails to clear the bank.