Face Coverings Must Be Worn In Indoor and Outdoor Public Spaces in North Carolina Where Social Distancing Cannot Be Maintained - More information available here.

Outer Banks Scenic Byway

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The Outer Banks National Scenic Byway traverses one of America’s great coastal landscapes. Tidal marshes, wind-swept dunes, lonesome beaches and beautiful sounds line the nationally-designated route.

Generations of families have lived in 21 maritime villages scattered along this famed North Carolina coastline. Those families and villages share a common cultural heritage, shaped by the intimately-known barrier islands and shallow Pamlico, Core and Back Sounds.

Outer Banks National Scenic Byway Committee for Dare County

The Dare County Committee is one of three county-based committees attending to the Outer Banks National Scenic Byway.
The Dare Committee was created and appointed by Dare County’s Board of Commissioners in Jan. 21, 2003, when the byway was state-designated. Subsequently, committees were appointed on Ocracoke and for Down East Carteret County, to form the Byway’s regional Advisory Committee.
In October 2009, the Byway won national designation, to become one of only 150 nationally-designated byways.
The Dare Committee champions paved pathways for all Hatteras Island villages. Grants have funded pathways in Buxton, Avon, Salvo, Waves and Rodanthe.
The Dare Committee and the Byway’s Advisory Committee completed in Spring 2016 installation of Wayshowing signs throughout Dare County, Ocracoke and Down East Carteret County. In 2016, the Byway Advisory committee is working on interpretive panels to tell stories about each of the 21 villages along the Byway.
The Dare Committee meets on the last Wednesday of each month except for December at Hatteras Realty, 41156 NC 12, Avon, at 3:30 p.m. Contact the chair to confirm time.
The regional Advisory Committee meets once each quarter.
Explore the Byway committee’s work for Dare County by looking at some of our documents.