Land Transfer Taxes

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

A land transfer tax can only be paid at the Register of Deeds office at the time of the recording.

The rate for Dare County is 1% and is defined as an excise tax on instruments conveying certain interests in real property. The tax imposed is $1 per each $100 or fraction thereof of the total consideration or value of the interest conveyed.

For more information on the Land Transfer Tax please visit the Land Transfer Tax Home Page