Apply for a Building Permit

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Building permits must be obtained from the appropriate inspection office for the geographical location of the construction project. A list of the three inspection offices, and the areas they serve, is below. Sub-permits for mechanical, plumbing, or electrical work may be obtained at any of the offices regardless of the construction location. 


For more information visit the Building Permits & Inspections Homepage

When is a permit required?
Information needed to obtain a permit
Inspections required for new construction
Fee schedule

Planning Department Offices


Dare County Administration Building
Room 148
954 Marshall C. Collins Drive
Manteo, NC 27954
Phone: 252.475.5870

Serving unincorporated portions of Roanoke Island including Wanchese and the mainland areas of Dare County:  East Lake, Manns Harbor, Mashoes, & Stumpy Point


County Satellite Office
50347 NC Hwy 12
Frisco, NC 27936
Phone: 252.475.5878

All of Hatteras Island

Kill Devil Hills 

County Satellite Office
2601 North Croatan Hwy
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone: 252.475.5871

Baum Bay, Colington, and Martin's Point areas